Black History Month at Southwest

Feb 14 - Feb 20
Seminary campus, 501 E. 32nd Street, Austin, Texas

You are invited to attend the events that Seminary of the Southwest will host during Black History Month.

February 3, 2014 at 5:30 p.m.   Art exhibit reception in Weeks Campus Center featuring Robin Burwell, Chesiel John, John Langmore, Arleen Polite, Naomi Richard, Jannifer Gleaspies Williams and Larry Williams. Their work includes wood cutting, photos and paintings.  Two will leave their work up through the end of the month and one will return his work for the events on February 20th.

February 14, 2014 at 11:45 a.m. Holy Eucharist in Christ Chapel commemorating Jonathan Daniels.

February 20, 2014 at 5:30 p.m.   Christ Chapel service featuring the Huston-Tillotson University Choir under the direction of Dr. Gloria Quinlan.  Our preacher will be the Rev. Glenice Robinson-Como,  Class 

of 2010 and currently canon pastor at Christ Church Cathedral, Houston, Texas.   6:30 p.m.  Reception featuring Ms. Robin Burwell, a violinist with the Austin Symphony.     7:30 p.m.  Public lecture by NASA Administrator Charles F. Bolden, Jr. in Weeks Campus Center.  






Black History Month, or National African American History Month, is an annual celebration of achievements by black Americans and a time for recognizing the central role of African Americans in U.S. history. The event grew out of “Negro History Week,” the brainchild of noted historian Carter G. Woodson and other prominent African Americans. Since 1976, every U.S. president has officially designated the month of February as Black History Month. Other countries around the world, including Canada and the United Kingdom, also devote a month to celebrating black history.  

Planning committee: Scott Bader-Saye, Mary Balfour Van Zandt, John Culmer, T.J. Freeman, Ora Houston, Micah Jackson, Cynthia Briggs Kittredge, Vivian Orndorff, Granyon Perry, Lynwood Randolph, Glenice Robinson-Como, Judith Rhedin, Hunter Ruffin and Sandra Ward

Please contact Planning Committee Cochairman T.J. Freeman at and Lynwood Randolph at for additional information.