If you desire to be part of a community which is well grounded in the tradition and which extends Christian hospitality to all, a community in which faith and practice join to form mature Christian leaders, then Seminary of the Southwest is the school for you!

Seminary of the Southwest forms creative leaders for the mission fields of the changing world. Southwest offers a rich intellectual environment and stimulating and challenging community for learning and formation.

The Very Rev. Cynthia Briggs Kittredge, ThD is the eighth dean and president of this, the second youngest Episcopal seminary, founded in 1952. Chair of the Board is the Rt. Rev. Dena Harrison, bishop suffragan for the Diocese of Texas.


Southwest provides excellent residential formation for ordained ministry; offers professional master’s degrees to a range of lay professionals in a range of denominations and faith traditions; and serves the church through innovative models for local formation and ongoing training.

A total of 102 students enrolled at Seminary of the Southwest for Fall 2013.  The 37 ordination track students are from 21 dioceses around the country (Alabama, Central Gulf Coast, Colorado, Dallas, El Camino Real, Fort Worth, Idaho, Indianapolis, Iowa, Kansas, Maryland, Mississippi, New York, Northwest Texas, Oklahoma, Olympia, Rio Grande, Southwest Florida, Texas, West Texas, and Western Michigan). An Hispanic Church Studies concentration is available to MDiv students who plan a ministry with Spanish speaking and bi-lingual congregations.

Fifty-nine lay professionals are enrolled in the master’s programs of the Loise Henderson Wessendorff Center for Christian Ministry and Vocation: Counseling-33, Chaplaincy and Pastoral Care-17,  and Spiritual Formation-7.

Eight students are enrolled in the Master of Arts in Religion, which is the most academic of the seminary’s degrees offering a general studies track or a concentration track for students with intense intellectual energy.

Sixty percent of students receive financial aid for tuition through the seminary’s scholarship aid and work programs. The average scholarship is $7,533 per year.


The excellent faculty at Seminary of the Southwest teach, tell, and remember God’s story as scholars and pastors. It is the mission of the faculty to prepare students for faithful and creative service.

Ten Christian scholars hold permanent faculty positions in Old and New Testament, Christian Theology, Christian Ethics and Moral Theology, Church History, Liturgics and Anglican Studies, Preaching, Pastoral Theology, and Missiology and Hispanic Church Studies.

Professional chaplains, licensed counselors and scholars teach as adjunct faculty in the degree programs offered in the Loise Henderson Wessendorff Center for Christian Ministry and Vocation.


Graduates of Southwest do God’s work in parishes, dioceses, hospitals, non-profit organizations and in the armed forces and beyond.

Our 1,200 + graduates are serving in 23 countries around the world, including 18 bishops serving in the Episcopal Church and in the Anglican Communion.


Seminary of the Southwest is in the final year of a three-year major gifts campaign to address the needs for faculty endowment, scholarship endowments and annual fund. The Rt. Rev. Claude E. Payne and Mrs. Barbara Payne chair the Campaign for Leadership, which is $2 million shy of its goal of $15.9 million.

The seminary’s annual fund has grown over the past five years from $400,000 to over $750,000 thanks to the generosity of alumni and friends of the seminary.

The 2013-14 budget is $5.3 million. The annual fund goal is $800,000.


Seminary of the Southwest is accredited by:

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

1866 Southern Lane

Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097



To award master's degrees and post-baccalaureate diplomas


The Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools (ATS) in the United States and Canada

10 Summit Park Drive

Pittsburgh, PA 15275-1103 USA


412-788-6510 (fax)


To award MDiv, MA in Counseling, MA (Religion), MA in Chaplaincy and Pastoral Care, MA in Spiritual Formation

The seminary belongs to the Council of Southwestern Theological Schools and the American Theological Library Association.

2013-14 Lectures

Distinguished scholars and church leaders deliver three major lecture series each year for students, alumni and friends of the seminary. 

            Blandy Lectures, September 17-18, 2013. The Rev. Thomas Brackett, missioner for church planting, ministry redevelopment, and Fresh Expressions for church.

            Payne Lecture, February 6, 2014. The Rev. Jimmy Bartz, lead minister and founder of Thad’s, a 7-year old community in the Diocese of Los Angeles founded with a mission to reach people who would not otherwise darken the doors of one of our traditional parishes.

            Harvey Lecture, March 24, 2014. The Rev. Samuel T. Lloyd, III, priest-in-charge, Trinity Church Copley Square, Boston, and former dean of the National Cathedral.

            Commencement, May 13, 2014. Dr. Justo L. Gonzalez, Founder member of Asociacion para Educacion Teologica Hispana/Association for Hispanic Theological Education (AETH), and one of the most influential Hispanic voices nationally and in the theological world, will preach.


Letter from Dean and President Kittredge